REVIEW: DISNEYS FROZEN ‘PLAY-A-MELODY-GOWN’ ELSA AND NEW ‘OLAF’S FROZEN ADVENTURE’ TOYS

REVIEW: DISNEYS FROZEN ‘PLAY-A-MELODY-GOWN’ ELSA AND NEW ‘OLAF’S FROZEN ADVENTURE’ TOYS

If you’ve got a Frozen fan in your house, you’ll know that this November saw the release of Disney’s latest short film, ‘Olaf’s Frozen Adventure’. As part of the Hasbro Toy Tribe, we’ve been so lucky to be sent the latest Frozen toys to review, some of which have inspired by the new film. If you do have a Frozen fan, I have a feeling a few of these might just make their way to the top of your kids present wish list…

If you haven’t heard of the new Frozen short, it centres very much around Christmas. Olaf heads off on an adventure to try and help Elsa and Anna get some Christmas traditions of their very own. If you’ve not seen it yet, here’s a trailer to the new mini film:

 

We’ve been sent three toys to review; Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Musical Elsa’ Doll’, Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Snacktime Surprise Olaf‘ and the new Disney Frozen ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown‘ Elsa.

Evie is completely Frozen mad at the moment. Apart from Disneys Cars (another obsesssion), it’s the only full length feature film she has ever sat down and watched in one go. Now everything in her world is all about Elsa and Anna. Christmas is going to be very easy this year.

Disney Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Musical Elsa’ Doll

Review: Disneys Frozen Play-A-Melody-Gown Elsa and New Olafs Frozen Adventure Toys

The first Elsa doll we want to show you is the Disney Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Musical Elsa Doll’. She wears the beautiful, shimmery purple/grey gown that is featured in the new film. It has a white furry collar and comes complete with matching purple heels. Her blonde hair is styled in her signature braid and the dress is decorated with snow flakes and glitter. We seriously wish it came in grown up size! 

When you press the button on her tummy she sings a snippet of the song ‘When We’re Together’, which you’ll also hear in the new film. The song is all about celebrating the holidays together and its so catchy. Evie has picked up the words really quickly and now sings along while she dances about the house with Elsa. She is so in love with this doll.

Even if your child hasn’t seen the new Frozen short, they’ll adore this new Elsa doll. The dress and shoes can be removed, so they can interchange them easily with their other Disney Princess dolls.

Disneys Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Snacktime Surprise Olaf’ Toy

Review: Disneys Frozen Play-A-Melody-Gown Elsa and New Olafs Frozen Adventure Toys

The next ‘Frozen’ toy we were sent is the Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Snacktime Surprise Olaf’. ‘Snacktime Surprise Olaf’ is such a lovely toy for littler Frozen fans. We thought Evie might be a bit too big to play with him at 3 and a half, but actually she has had loads of fun with him.

Inspired by the film, to play with this toy you simply need to post little holiday food treats into Olaf’s mouth. Straight away they fall back out again via the hatch on his bottom. A little bit of fun at the same time as being good for helping your little one develop fine motor skills. Whats more, Olaf makes silly sounds and says funny phrases every time you feed him a holiday treat. These noises can also be recreated by pressing the button on his chest. This toy is great for imaginative play and it is sure to make you and your kids laugh.

Evie adores this toy and the first time she played with it, she wouldn’t stop giggling. She also loves using her imagination and sends him off on lots of ‘Frozen’ adventures around her room and enjoys getting him to interact with the Elsa dolls.

Disney Frozen ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown’ Elsa Doll

Review: Disneys Frozen Play-A-Melody-Gown Elsa and New Olafs Frozen Adventure Toys

The final toy we were sent to review is the Disney Frozen ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown’ Elsa doll. This is Evie’s (and my) ultimate favourite of all. At the press of a button the doll plays the famous ‘Let It Go’ melody. Your kids challenge is to catch the snow-flake lights and play along with the ‘piano style dress’. This doll is great for both older and younger kids and will inspire hours of musical, frozen fun.

Elsa is wearing her famous blue dress  from the original film, and like the other doll, her hair is styled in the signature blonde braid. She also comes wearing high heels but her legs are replaced with the piano that’s hidden underneath her dress.

Review: Disneys Frozen Play-A-Melody-Gown Elsa and New Olafs Frozen Adventure Toys

The ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown‘ can be used in three different ways. You can play your own tune on the dress, you can play along to ‘Let It Go’ with backing music by following the light-up snowflake keys, or you can practise ‘Let It Go’ by following the lights at your own speed.

This doll has been played with by the whole family, grown ups included. We’ve all spent hours trying to chase the lights to be in time with the music and so far its been loads of fun, despite none of us yet getting it completely right.

Frozen Adventure Toys

Review: Disneys Frozen Play-A-Melody-Gown Elsa and New Olafs Frozen Adventure Toys

Both Elsa dolls and Olaf have been on lots of Frozen Adventures around our house this week and I’ve officially invested in some ear plugs. But, at least I have a very happy toddler on my hands.

Giveaway

My daughter just celebrated her fourth birthday and she received another ‘Olaf’ as a present. So, we decided to run a competition to give the new one away. Life Unexpected is also currently running a month of giveaways. Head over to the ‘Blog Giveaways‘ page to enter the rest. New ones will be added daily. To win an ‘Olaf’ simply enter via the rafflecopter below.

*Please note that the packaging will be slightly damaged due to a keen birthday toddler trying to open something she already has. Do not enter unless you are happy to receive an unused and brand new, but slightly opened product. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

We officially can’t wait to see the new short film ‘Olafs Frozen Adventure’ . Fingers crossed we’ll be off to see it in the cinema this week. 

If you want your child to enter the enchanting world of Olaf’s Frozen Adventure, you can get Hasbros new collection of Frozen toys now. They’re available to buy from all good toy shops.

Have you seen the new film ‘Olafs Frozen Adventure’ yet? Which of these toys would be your little ones favourite? Let me know in the comments below! 

*We are part of the Hasbro Toy Tribe and we’re sent these products to review. All opinions are honest and our own.

Follow:
Share:

112 Comments

  1. November 29, 2017 / 12:27 pm

    Ah I love the Olaf toy I love that you can feed him little treats how adorable! A lovely collection of toys which I’m sure any Frozen fan would be over the moon to have.

  2. mammasschool
    November 29, 2017 / 12:38 pm

    Oh my, I’m sat in my own bubble over here in Sweden and never realised there was this movie…must find out more!

  3. November 29, 2017 / 12:46 pm

    I have two huge frozen fans in our house. These toys look like so much fun and perfect for any little frozen fan. I especially love the snack time olaf.

  4. November 29, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    Oh my goodness my daughter would be SO excited to receive these from Father Christmas this year! We went to see Olaf’s Frozen Adventure at the weekend and it was really funny 🙂

  5. November 29, 2017 / 6:08 pm

    We went to see this short film at the weekend and absolutely loved it! Such a lovely film with the all best things about xmas in it. I haven’t seen these toys before but I know someone that would love all 3!

  6. November 29, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    My boys LOVE Frozen and my eldest hasn’t stopped singing ‘Let it Go’. Olaf is super cute as well… such an endearing little character.

  7. November 30, 2017 / 10:32 am

    Alessia is still obsessed withFrozen . She would love theses for Xmas 🙂 x

  8. November 30, 2017 / 11:09 am

    Aww, these are so sweet. My Daughter use to love Frozen toys a few years ago. She is all grown up now.

  9. November 30, 2017 / 11:24 am

    My girls are still obsessed with Frozen and whilst I thought we had all the toys, clearly we don’t! These look fab!

  10. November 30, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    We have not seen it yet but I know Eliza would adore all of these

  11. December 1, 2017 / 12:04 pm

    What beautiful Frozen toys. It looks like Evie is so pleased with them all 🙂 x

  12. January 18, 2018 / 3:15 pm

    We had Olaf’s Frozen Adventure virtually on repeat through the whole Christmas period, and a couple of times since too.
    These toys look fab! My Ragamuffin would love them!

  13. Being Mummy
    April 4, 2018 / 9:16 am

    My daughter loves Frozen, we watch the films numerous times a day, have to carry around two Olaf toys, an Elsa and Anna doll and a teddy Elsa doll too. She would live in her Elsa dress too if we let her 😂

  14. April 4, 2018 / 2:05 pm

    My step daughter loves Frozen her favourite character is Olaf, the Olaf doll sounds so much fun I love the fact you can actually put treats in his mouth and they come out of the hatch sounds like so much fun x

  15. gemma hendry
    April 4, 2018 / 2:50 pm

    i love how beautiful these toys look, they just like the movie, my daughter would love

  16. April 4, 2018 / 3:52 pm

    I love how pretty they look.. and really great quality!

  17. Solange
    April 4, 2018 / 4:50 pm

    I love the fact you can feed him little treats. My daughter would love him.

  18. Lorna Ledger
    April 4, 2018 / 5:04 pm

    cute, quirky, very much like their characters on the film, very interactive, my Nephew would love them

  19. Michelle Smith
    April 4, 2018 / 8:30 pm

    My granddaughter would love the frozen dolls she loves anything that’s disney.

  20. Margaret Gallagher
    April 4, 2018 / 9:14 pm

    My neices are just the BIGGEST fans – so much fun and creative play – love anything that fires the imagination

  21. sarah Mackay
    April 4, 2018 / 9:42 pm

    My daughter is Elsa obsessed, we end up watching the movies every week.

  22. S Edwards
    April 5, 2018 / 6:42 am

    I love the fact i know how much joy they would bring my two little girls as they adore Frozen xx

  23. Sue McCarthy
    April 5, 2018 / 7:47 am

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize to donate to charity, to go to Romania.

  24. Iain Maciver
    April 5, 2018 / 10:08 am

    massive frozen fans here they look amazing and the kids would love them

  25. kirsty umney
    April 5, 2018 / 2:27 pm

    My kids love Olaf so much

  26. April 5, 2018 / 2:46 pm

    These looks great! My little Grandson adores Olaf! not seen these before

  27. Laura Scott
    April 5, 2018 / 3:34 pm

    My eldest daughter loves frozen, particularly Anna. She is currently obsessed with making me “food” to eat so an Olaf she can feed would be right up her street.

  28. Pamela Gossage
    April 5, 2018 / 4:01 pm

    My grandchildren love Frozen and they would all spend ages playing with them

  29. adeinne Tonner
    April 5, 2018 / 4:27 pm

    I really like the fact that you can feed them so it makes it more interactive for the child playing with the toy.

  30. April 5, 2018 / 4:39 pm

    Aww! These toys are just adorable. I love the look of the Disney Frozen ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown’ Elsa doll. I think my girl would love her x

  31. Katy Malkin
    April 5, 2018 / 4:46 pm

    They are just the right size for my little girl, and you can customise them too

  32. April 5, 2018 / 5:04 pm

    I love that you can feed Olaf little treats, how fun!

  33. Tracy Hanley
    April 5, 2018 / 8:14 pm

    My granddaughter just loves olaf , she thinks hes so funny

  34. simon tutthill
    April 5, 2018 / 8:28 pm

    They look amazing and they would certainly keep any child busy for hours on end

  35. katie
    April 5, 2018 / 8:41 pm

    The Frozen toys appeal to all children and look great fun. Frozen is a great film – we love it!

  36. Annabel Greaves
    April 5, 2018 / 8:53 pm

    My daughter adores Frozen and its characters, this would be great for her x

  37. Hayley Colburn
    April 5, 2018 / 9:05 pm

    I love the new outfit on the Musical Elsa Doll, and also love that they interact with one another, my youngest loves Frozen, its been great to be able to hand her down some of my older daughter’s old frozen toys but none of them are a patch on these

  38. laura stewart
    April 5, 2018 / 9:36 pm

    my daughter loves frozen, they look fab and good quality, would love to win xx

  39. April 5, 2018 / 11:50 pm

    My kids are frozen mad I’m ure try would love this

  40. April 6, 2018 / 10:10 am

    Disney Frozen ‘Play-A-Melody-Gown’ Elsa Doll i think this would be great for helping kids to sleep 🙂

  41. Sadiyya Maryam
    April 6, 2018 / 10:22 am

    These Frozen toys look so good and so much fun. My daughter would love these.

  42. Sabrina Baldock
    April 6, 2018 / 11:53 am

    These toys look amazing. My sister would love the singing dolls and my brother would love the Olaf.

  43. Tina Hewitt
    April 6, 2018 / 12:12 pm

    My Granddaughter Maisie is obsessed with Frozen, ever since we saw it at the cinema. Maisie would be ecstatic if she had the Olaf especially as she can feed him.

  44. Dean T
    April 6, 2018 / 7:33 pm

    I love that they are insufferably cute and the lil ones love Frozen so it is win win

  45. Hannah Wallington
    April 6, 2018 / 8:03 pm

    My daughter would love these , she loves Frozen

  46. April 7, 2018 / 2:19 am

    My daughter crazy on frozen big fan of oalf would love his silly sounds and she loves feeding everyone would give us a break not good for my diet ha

  47. Vicky Q
    April 7, 2018 / 9:25 am

    We love frozen! Oliver’s fav is Olaf and Elsa. Everytime I put hair hair in a plait he tells me I look like Anna or Elsa!

  48. Hali Kinson
    April 7, 2018 / 9:50 am

    My kids love frozen..these look great and fab quality! Cute you can feed them!

  49. Dawn Hull
    April 7, 2018 / 2:12 pm

    This would be ideal for my friend’s young daughter. She loves Disney films and Frozen is her definite favourite. The Frozen Adventure Toys are so cute and look very good quality.

  50. Claire Glace
    April 7, 2018 / 4:09 pm

    Love the gorgeous outfits, my grandaughter adores Elsa and all of her friends, many thanks….

  51. April 8, 2018 / 8:36 am

    Hello
    Oh wow thank you so much for this awesome giveaway! That’s just soooo generous! I try for my 6 year old chip.

    My daughter is a big fan of the Snow Queen as I think all the little girls and her favorite character is Olaf. She owns a kit bag for her crayons of the effigy !!!Good luck

  52. Kim Styles
    April 8, 2018 / 11:57 am

    I adore Olaf and we bulit a giant one when the East from the East hit Norfolk! Frozen seems to be timeless -My daughter dressed up as Elsa in her job in a coffee shop at christmas and all the little kids had their photos taken with her.

  53. April 8, 2018 / 7:07 pm

    Our family just adores Disney and Frozen so I guess that sums it up but I like the fact that these toys are interactive! Fingers crossed! 🙂

  54. michelle o'neill
    April 8, 2018 / 9:18 pm

    we love olaf, especially my grandaughter and my niece x

  55. Rich Tyler
    April 9, 2018 / 3:32 pm

    My little man loves Olaf, he finds him crazy funny!

  56. Gary Topley
    April 10, 2018 / 8:12 pm

    My daughter is Frozen crazy, she would love these and her favourite would be Olaf. Thankyou for the competition x

  57. Simone Griffin
    April 10, 2018 / 8:32 pm

    These look so much fun – my son loves Olaf and would love to win him x

  58. Ana Nowell
    April 11, 2018 / 9:20 am

    Wow this toy looks great. My son would go mad for it. He loves Frozen

  59. Lisa Wilkinson
    April 11, 2018 / 9:31 am

    My little girl would love these toys. Snacktime Olaf looks a lot of fun

  60. Sally Collingwood
    April 11, 2018 / 4:25 pm

    I have an army of frozen fans in my grandchildren who would all love this.

  61. lozzle77
    April 12, 2018 / 10:15 am

    they look and cute and very fun to play with

  62. CHARLOTTE G
    April 12, 2018 / 11:53 am

    I would love to give my child these Frozen toys! Frozen’s biggest fan lives in my house!

  63. April 12, 2018 / 5:01 pm

    My grandchildren have watched the film countless times and would love playing with Snacktime Surprise Olaf

  64. Amanda Gregory
    April 14, 2018 / 2:26 pm

    They are great quality and very like the characters. My great-niece, Mia is such a big Frozen fan. She would love this prize. Thanks for a lovely giveaway.

  65. sheri Darby
    April 14, 2018 / 10:20 pm

    I think they are brilliant because my daughter is mad about Frozen

  66. Katerina Economides
    April 15, 2018 / 12:14 pm

    They look really friendly with loads of personality. I think they are really sweet.

  67. Faye Reed
    April 15, 2018 / 1:39 pm

    My girls have seen it, I haven’t. They really enjoyed it, I think they would like the Disney Olaf’s Frozen Adventure ‘Musical Elsa Doll’ because her dress is different to the normal Elsa dolls.

  68. Susan B
    April 15, 2018 / 2:28 pm

    Their faces are friendly and beautiful and the girls just love long hair to comb.

  69. Anthea Holloway
    April 15, 2018 / 6:26 pm

    These are lovely and so interactive too. I am sure you were deafened at points but they are such fun.

  70. JULIE WARD
    April 15, 2018 / 9:00 pm

    Youngest grandson is a massive Frozen fan especially Olaf, who I must say is cute

  71. April 15, 2018 / 9:05 pm

    Would love the musical Elsa my daughter would love them all fantastic that they are interactive

  72. April 15, 2018 / 9:15 pm

    My niece already has these Anna and Elsa dolls, and she loves them. I think they are ok. They could be more articulated. The Olaf looks like a fun toy though.

  73. Jo McPherson
    April 16, 2018 / 6:35 am

    My niece is obsessed with Frozen and would absolutely love this

  74. Jenny Rogers
    April 16, 2018 / 11:52 am

    These toys look attractive, and are also interactive. They inspire and allow lots of imaginative and creative play.

  75. Emma Smith
    April 16, 2018 / 12:54 pm

    These are great. My daughter loves anything Frozen so would happily add these to her collection, thx

  76. Diana
    April 16, 2018 / 1:09 pm

    My girls love Frozen! These look so great and we don’t have any olaf toys at all

  77. Laura Claridge
    April 16, 2018 / 7:20 pm

    They look like lots of fun and fab to get little imaginations running wild!

  78. Laura Pritchard
    April 16, 2018 / 8:40 pm

    I love that they are musical – my daughter has the standard dolls but the music makes them extra special

  79. Collette
    April 16, 2018 / 8:47 pm

    My little girl loves frozen it wouldn’t matter which character she received she would be frozen delighted

  80. Katie smith
    April 16, 2018 / 9:57 pm

    My girls would love any character

  81. April 16, 2018 / 10:28 pm

    Ooh my daughter is Frozen obsessed – I bet she would especially love the Melody Gown one. She is always pretending to be Elsa and dancing around my living room singing Let It Go!

  82. DENISE WILDEN
    April 16, 2018 / 10:50 pm

    I loved the musical snowflake Elsa I think my granddaughter would love the whole set as she is a huge Frozen fan.

  83. paula cheadle
    April 16, 2018 / 11:14 pm

    I love that you can feed Olaf treats

  84. Bryan Vice
    April 17, 2018 / 5:07 am

    My son Jaxon LOVES olaf it would make his day Olaf is his favorite

  85. April 17, 2018 / 6:28 am

    I love how cute they look and how quality they are. Some movie tie in toys look cheap and nothing like they are supposed to but these look like they’ve jumped straight out of Frozen

  86. Rena plumridge
    April 17, 2018 / 7:11 am

    My god daughter adores Frozen and would love these

  87. April 17, 2018 / 7:16 am

    These dolls look so gorgeous and love the fact that they are interactive and great for imaginative playtime.

  88. jamie banks
    April 17, 2018 / 7:20 am

    i love frozen and olaf is so cute i would put him in my room on my bed x

  89. April 17, 2018 / 8:47 am

    These seem to be well made, Olaf always makes me smile!

  90. Amy Denney
    April 17, 2018 / 9:54 am

    My little girl Tilly she’s 3. She Loves the movie Frozen. Elsa is her favourite. These look amazing dolls and would give my little girl a great sense of imagination to play with and sing along.

  91. Dawn Samples
    April 17, 2018 / 10:13 am

    My son would love the idea of feeding Olaf with the food treats x

  92. Stevie Fairbairn
    April 17, 2018 / 11:03 am

    My niece loves Frozen and to see her face with prize would be priceless.

  93. linda curtis
    April 17, 2018 / 11:37 am

    what a fantastic prize my granddaughter would love this

  94. Sue Bebbington
    April 17, 2018 / 11:41 am

    I just love the fact that they are so entertaining, instead of just a doll. My granddaughter would absolutely love these xx

  95. Jeanette Leighton
    April 17, 2018 / 11:45 am

    I love that you can feed them my daughter loves having tea parties with her toys these would be perfect for her

  96. April 17, 2018 / 12:02 pm

    I think Mylah would love this and her big sister Phoenix would enjoy showing her what to do before she gets the hang of it. 🙂 Love the Frozen toys and although Phoenix is nearly 7 she’s happy to play tea parties and shops with them with Mylah.

  97. Laura Avery
    April 17, 2018 / 12:33 pm

    these are awesome, I love the fact the princesses are strong and smart. Olaf makes me laugh he’s so cute

  98. Ruth Harwood
    April 17, 2018 / 12:50 pm

    These look fab, my daughter would play with them for hours, introducing them to her other toys!!

  99. April 17, 2018 / 2:02 pm

    The play a melody gown is definitley somethig that inspires imagination. It’s not just a few songs the kids will soon get bored of, they can actually create their own.

  100. Emma Middleton
    April 17, 2018 / 3:38 pm

    I would love to leave these at my mum’s house so her grandkids can all have fun playing with them

  101. Kerry H
    April 17, 2018 / 3:55 pm

    We love watching Frozen and singing the songs. My little boy would enjoy playing with these toys.

  102. April 17, 2018 / 5:50 pm

    I love how funny and adorable the Olaf toy is. I love anything that makes little ones giggle!

  103. janine atkin
    April 17, 2018 / 6:12 pm

    my niece would go crazy for these. she is such a frozen fan

  104. Kerryn Johnson
    April 17, 2018 / 7:37 pm

    My granddaughter would love olaf as she is a big frozen fan

  105. April 17, 2018 / 9:31 pm

    we love frozen but mainly olaf – we loves how he loves the warm but is a puddle

  106. April 17, 2018 / 9:45 pm

    My little grandson loves the film so has fallen for the characters he loves Olaf but he’s fallen for Elsa too lol

  107. Tee Simpson
    April 17, 2018 / 10:07 pm

    I love that you can play tunes with elsas dress and that you can feed olaf treats

  108. Adrian Bold
    April 17, 2018 / 10:53 pm

    I would love to win these for my niece as they look incredible and she’s a HUGE Frozen fan.

Leave a Reply

Life On Instagram
14   130
7   98
21   233
5   128
63   157