REVIEW: GIRAFFES IN SCARVES BY ORCHARD TOYS + GIVEAWAY

REVIEW: GIRAFFES IN SCARVES BY ORCHARD TOYS + GIVEAWAY

REVIEW: GIRAFFES IN SCARVES BY ORCHARD TOYS + GIVEAWAY

We have just tried out the newest Orchard Toys game: Giraffes In Scarves and I have to say, if you have a four to seven year old, they are going to love this game! We’re also so excited to have one of these games to giveaway to a lucky reader. Read on to find out how you can enter.

If you are a regular reader of Life Unexpected, you’ll know that it’s no secret that Evie is a little bit obsessed with Orchard Toys board games. We have an entire large drawer full of their games and our collection isn’t complete yet. Evie’s absolute favourite game is ‘Animal Families‘. In fact, in no word of a lie she has played that game every single day for the last three months. As it’s a multi player game, you can imagine who else has played it every single day for the last three months!

It’s safe to say we were (ahem…I was) very ready to try a new Orchard Toys game and Giraffes In Scarves is one we’re definitely not going to tire of very easily.

Giraffes In Scarves By Orchard Toys Header

Giraffes In Scarves

Giraffes In Scarves is the newest game to be added to Orchard Toys store. It’s aimed at four to seven year olds, but even this twenty nine year old Mama actually finds it a lot of fun. In fact, the game is as fun and quirky as the box cover and this week, the adults in our family have had as much enjoyment playing it as the kids! Luckily it can be played by up to six people. That means that so far there have been no arguments about whose turn it is to play next.

Inside the box you’ll find a whole mixture of giraffe body parts, including funny faces, dressed-up bottoms and lots of long necks covered in different numbers of scarves.

Giraffes In Scarves By Orchard Toys Header

Giraffes In Scarves By Orchard Toys Header

Giraffes In Scarves By Orchard Toys Header

The aim of the game? To collect the most scarves on your giraffe!

Sounds simple? It’s actually a lot more challenging than that!

How To Play

We have a lot of Orchard Toy games and this is probably the most challenging one we’ve had yet.

To start the game, each player needs to pick their ‘giraffe’ base. Then each player takes it in turn roll the coloured dice. Once you’ve rolled the dice, you simply pick the matching coloured card and start ‘collecting scarves’ and building your giraffe.

Giraffes In Scarves

If though, you happen to turn over the giraffes head that matches your ‘giraffe base’ then there is no more scarf collecting for you.

One thing I really love about this game though, is that that doesn’t mean that you are out. Even if you collect your head, you can carry on playing. Only now your challenge is to try and stop the other players from collecting anymore scarves.

Giraffes In Scarves

Now, every time you roll the dice and pick up a card, you place it to the side so that no one else can use it. If you find another players head you can put it on their giraffe and they are now out. You all keep playing like this until all players have their heads on their giraffes.

The winner is the player with the most scarves on their giraffe.

Giraffes In Scarves

Our Thoughts

I know that Evie is so in love with this game, but I have to say, I am as well! I can see it coming out and being played a lot and by our entire family too. This game is so engaging. It’s fun, its educational and it really gets out your competing streak.

Giraffes In Scarves

For young kids, it is also the perfect game to test and develop lots of different skills. For example, the game involves basic colour matching and memory skills. It’s also so perfect for helping them to develop their counting skills, for teaching them to use ‘strategies’ to win, to teach them about turn taking and also to help them develop their personal and social skills.

Giraffes In Scarves

There are so many more reasons why this game is amazing, but I really think you should try it for yourself. The game retails at £7.75 and you can buy it here: 

There is also a ‘free activity’ download on the website that you can find by clicking the link above.

If you don’t have any Orchard Toys games yet either, you really need to check out their website. They create the most high quality, engaging, educational, fun and interesting games, puzzles and more for kids.

We are a family that is obsessed with the brand and for good reason. Not only are all their games well thought out and unique, but they will last for years and years and can be handed down from generation to generation. If you want to see more of their great games, check out some of our other reviews:

Giraffes In Scarves By Orchard Toys Header

Giveaway

How would you like to win ‘Giraffes In Scarves’ for your kids? To enter, simply fill in the rafflecopter below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

So, what do you think of Giraffes In Scarves? Is this a game your kids would love to play? Let us know in the comments below.

*We were sent this game for the purpose of this review. All opinions are completely honest (we really are in love with this brand and this game) and our own.

Follow:
Share:

53 Comments

  1. October 19, 2018 / 12:33 pm

    We have quite a selection of Orchard games, as they are fun and easy to play and can also be packed easily into a case to travel on holiday with. They are colourful and my children never seem to get sick of playing them again and again. The Giraffes In Scarves will appeal to my youngest daughter as she loves giraffes!

  2. Iain Maciver
    October 19, 2018 / 1:21 pm

    great fun for the kids they would be over the moon

  3. kelly wheelhouse
    October 19, 2018 / 3:35 pm

    I think this game is a fantastic and fun way to help young children to learn 🙂 I think my niece would adore this

  4. Rachel Craig
    October 19, 2018 / 4:26 pm

    The Giraffes in Scarves, the faces of the giraffes look great. Would love the game for the family.

  5. Kayleigh Watkins
    October 19, 2018 / 8:12 pm

    I love games that are fun but also educational and this one does exactly that, i think my girls would enjoy it too xx

  6. Solange
    October 19, 2018 / 9:21 pm

    The Giraffes in Scarves game sounds like it’s engaging, fun and educational too.

  7. October 19, 2018 / 10:49 pm

    This sounds a great game and my granddaughter is giraffe crazy she would love it

  8. Ursula Hunt
    October 20, 2018 / 11:20 am

    Orchard toys make great games for little ones.I love Giraffes so this is the perfect game, my granddaughter would be thrilled as she knows my passion for these animals

  9. Jennifer Toal
    October 20, 2018 / 4:02 pm

    It looks fun and educational

  10. Susan B
    October 20, 2018 / 7:06 pm

    How fab! The name is a winner, the illustrations are beautiful and it is perfect for early learners.

  11. October 21, 2018 / 10:38 am

    this looks fun and educational, as i’ve found that most orchard toys games to be! xx

  12. Sally Collingwood
    October 21, 2018 / 3:33 pm

    What a great game Giraffes In Scarves is, the kids will love it.

  13. Margaret Gallagher
    October 21, 2018 / 5:10 pm

    Orchard toys always encourage learning – colourful and Guarenteed fun too

  14. Amy Bondoc
    October 21, 2018 / 5:12 pm

    This sounds a great game , i love games that are to do with animals, i think its important to teach children to respect and love animals

  15. bex allum
    October 21, 2018 / 8:45 pm

    My childminding children would love this and my girls too.

  16. Clare Hubbard
    October 21, 2018 / 9:03 pm

    This looks a fun game, we love orchard toys games, fun and educational

  17. Katie Walters
    October 22, 2018 / 2:32 pm

    My daughter’s favourite animal is a giraffe so she would love it. And my 2 children could use it

  18. Rachel Broadhead
    October 22, 2018 / 7:49 pm

    We love playing Orchard games with my niece and nephew. As soon as we visit them it’s “What are we playing?” and we end up sitting on the floor with them. The first Orchard game I bought for them was ‘Shopping List’ and we have spent many hours playing this game. Recently, we have had lots of fun playing ‘beetle’ and one of my nephew’s favourites is ‘bug bingo’.

  19. Lorna Ledger
    October 23, 2018 / 6:07 pm

    cool fun game, good for rainy days!

  20. sarah m
    October 23, 2018 / 8:08 pm

    Looks like such a great game and excellent for developing skills too! I think the son would really enjoy this!

  21. Nicola Farrel
    October 23, 2018 / 10:22 pm

    We have a couple of orchard games my 3 year old loves them! This one looks a bit different to the ones we’ve tried too, looks like fun!

  22. Sadiyya Maryam
    October 24, 2018 / 8:42 am

    This game looks like so much fun and great for learning too. Orchard games are both fun and educational.

  23. Liam Bishop
    October 24, 2018 / 11:51 am

    We love Orchard games in our house! My sons loves animals too. His favorite at the moment is Greedy Gorilla.

  24. Alice Colling
    October 24, 2018 / 9:17 pm

    We have loads of Orchard games, I just love them and this one looks like a new favourite as my daughter loves giraffes.

  25. Anthony Harrington
    October 26, 2018 / 8:27 am

    we love Orchard Toys, they are so well made and bright and appealing, The Giraffes looks fun!

  26. Hayley Elliott
    October 26, 2018 / 9:11 am

    My 3 year old son absolutely loves the orchard toy games! Such great educational toys when homeschooling!

  27. Rachael Sexey
    October 26, 2018 / 12:06 pm

    Orchard toys always encourage learning they are bright and colourful and so much fun too ✨

  28. October 26, 2018 / 6:19 pm

    It looks really amusing, my friends daughter would love this

  29. Kim Neville
    October 27, 2018 / 10:28 am

    A fun game for the family and to see how tall your giraffe can get too

  30. Rachael Obrien
    October 29, 2018 / 8:56 am

    My son loves lining things up and counting so this would be very much appreciated, Thankyou for a chance x

  31. Fiona Rennie
    October 29, 2018 / 2:08 pm

    This game looks like fun, my son has loved all of the Orchard Toys games that he has played

  32. JULIE WARD
    October 29, 2018 / 2:13 pm

    These are great for youngest grandson, with them being colourful makes them more interesting

  33. Karen Barrett
    October 29, 2018 / 3:03 pm

    Orchard Toys produce some fabulous games that are always bright and colourful, fun and educational whilst being hard wearing. I haven’t seen this game before but looks good fun

  34. Alex Telford
    October 29, 2018 / 8:34 pm

    We love orchard toys, we have bought bug bingo which is a massive hit. My daughter is in giraffe class at school so she would most definitely love this!

  35. Mandy Doherty
    October 29, 2018 / 9:31 pm

    Great game to help my young grandchildren with their colours and counting

  36. Allan Fullarton
    October 30, 2018 / 5:22 pm

    Looks like a great family game.

  37. October 30, 2018 / 9:40 pm

    Orchard Toys make games that all the family enjoy. This one looks great fun

  38. Anthea Holloway
    October 31, 2018 / 7:27 pm

    Orchard games and toys are always of the highest quality. This game sounds like great fun.

  39. Lara Latchem
    November 1, 2018 / 7:47 am

    We love orchard toys as they have such a great range for all ages. Giraffes in scarves looks good as a challenge is good to keep kids interested

  40. November 1, 2018 / 8:13 am

    I love the zany pictures children can create. It’s a great game to encourage children with memory skills.

  41. AnnaH
    November 1, 2018 / 9:45 am

    We love giraffes and this looks like a great game that the whole family could play together.

  42. Hayley Todd
    November 1, 2018 / 3:40 pm

    I really like Orchard Games for my girls, they are both good fun but are a great way of learning at the same time. This game looks really great, especially as it helps to develop a whole range of different learning skills.

  43. Natalie Crossan
    November 1, 2018 / 4:14 pm

    I love that it looks fun, silly and most of all – amusing!

  44. Charlotte Austin
    November 1, 2018 / 5:57 pm

    We love the orchard toy games we have the rocket game which looks a little similar x

  45. Laura Lee
    November 1, 2018 / 7:10 pm

    This game looks a lot of fun and I know my youngest would love it. He is beginning to love games and this would be a welcome addition to our colleciton. Thanks for the chance

  46. janine atkin
    November 1, 2018 / 7:11 pm

    i love that its simple yet fun and educational

  47. Diane Carey
    November 1, 2018 / 7:33 pm

    I think children will find this game amusing. The giraffes look really funny. They are colourful, fun and educational . A great Christmas present

  48. Tracy Hanley
    November 1, 2018 / 8:23 pm

    This game looks like the sort of game my grandkids would just love playing

  49. lynn neal
    November 1, 2018 / 8:28 pm

    This game is lovely and colourful and looks fun to play!

  50. November 1, 2018 / 8:49 pm

    We love the bright, colourful, educational content of Orchard Toys’ games and it looks like Giraffes in Scarves is a great addition to the range

  51. Laura Walker
    November 1, 2018 / 9:00 pm

    We love Orchard Toys games my son currently loves their jigsaws. This looks like good fun I love that they help with their learning too

  52. Niki Marie Wardle
    November 1, 2018 / 9:33 pm

    I love Orchard toys, they’re always a hit in our house so I expect Giraffes in Scarves will be just as good!

  53. November 1, 2018 / 11:30 pm

    I love Orchard Toys. There’s such a range of games and skills covered.

Leave a Reply

Life On Instagram
16   203
20   308
15   240
41   399
21   352