SPHERO MINI REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

SPHERO MINI REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

SPHERO MINI REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

I think I’ve just been sent the coolest toy in the world to review. It’s called the ‘Sphero Mini‘. Tech fans would have already heard of Sphero’s robotic balls and Star Wars fans will probably already love their mini ‘Star Wars’ themed robot tech. But, if you haven’t heard of Sphero before they are basically a company who focus on creating robotic and digital technology for our entertainment.

If you have an 8 year old plus, they are seriously going to want one of these. In fact, I don’t know who wants to play with it more; my daughter, myself or my fiancee.

Sphero Mini is a newish little robotic gadget. It is said to be the smallest app-enabled robotic ball in the world! All I can say is that it’s super cool and it should well and truly be at the top of any kids Christmas wish list this year. (Is it too soon to mention Christmas?)

What’s even more amazing is that we also have a Sphero Mini to giveaway to you today. If you want to enter to win, read on to find out how you can and also to find out more about why this little robot gadget is so awesome.

What Is Sphero?

Sphero Mini is the worlds smallest app-enabled robotic ball. It is packed full of teeny tiny tech and it has a little gyroscope, an accelerometer, and LED lights. If you haven’t worked it out yet, basically this little robot ball moves. On your command! And there are so many cool ways to play with it. You can drive it, play games with it, learn to code and so much more.

Shero Mini Review

The Sphero Mini comes in a little box with a USB charging cable, some mini cones and some coloured skittles, so you can start playing with it right away.

The little ball reminds me a little bit of ‘snooker balls’, but it’s a little bit smaller and way more light weight.

We were sent the ‘orange’ Sphero Mini. But, you can also buy different colour shells for the Sphero, to match your personality. Available so far are pink, green, white and blue.

When you turn Sphero on, you can also change the colour of the LED light, to whatever bright and bold colour you feel like. But that’s enough about how it looks. I’m sure you want to know how you play with this gadget.

Playing With Sphero

To use the Sphero Mini you simply download one of two apps on your phone; Sphero Mini and/or Sphero Edu. Whichever app you’re using, the app instantly picks up Sphero and asked you to rotate the LED light on the ball until its facing you. This is so that you can configure the robot to move in the right direction.

Shero Mini Review

There are so many different fun ways to pay with Sphero. You can drive him via the joystick on the app, using your finger. This is Evie’s favourite way to play with him so far.

Shero Mini Review

You can also drive him with your face using the new Face Drive™ feature. Basically, your different facial expressions will make him move in different directions. For example a sad face will make him zoom forward and a happy face will make him come back.

Another way you can play with him is with your voice. For example, if you’re really loud he’ll run away from you.

Shero Mini Review

You can also use the ball as a video game controller and can move it to shoot your way through space, to race or to destroy a polygon of bricks. All of these games come built into the app and more can be added over time.

My favourite way to play with the Sphero Mini though, is to programme it using coding. To do this you’ll need the ‘Sphero Edu’ app instead of the ‘Sphero Mini’ app. Using this app you can map out a route for Sphero using code and watch him go. This is also a great way to teach kids coding and it’s so much fun to see what Sphero can do.

Shero Mini Review

Our Thoughts On Sphero

We absolutely love using Sphero. It is aimed at anyone 8 years+, but Evie, who has just turned four, has been using it, supervised by us. We have honestly had so much fun playing with this little robotic ball. I really love all the different ways it can be played with. Not only is it teaching Evie cause and effect, but it’s also helping her with her hand eye-co ordination, showing her how to be gentle and also introducing her to the basics of coding!

Shero Mini Review

I’m so amazed already by how much she has picked up and learnt from using this Sphero Mini and I know it’s something we’re all going to be playing with for years to come.

For now, we keep setting up cones for her, so she can try and move the ball around them, without knocking them over. We also keep setting up the skittles so she can play bowling with it (easier than it sounds).

This is really teaching her to focus on her hand-eye co-ordination and we’ve really noticed a change in how careful she is being. So far she has managed to get the ball around the cones one time. But, I am so impressed with this, because even I struggle to control it.

Learning To Code With Sphero Mini

What I’m most excited about, is that this ball is going to teach Evie the basics of coding. I’ve tried out the Sphero Edu app for myself this week. But, this weekend we’re sitting down with her and we’re going to try and teach her how to code a little. I can’t wait to see how she does and to see if this sparks a new interest for her.

Shero Mini Review

Teaching kids to code seems to be high on the agenda in the UK at the moment and I love that this is a fun way to learn those skills

Sphero Edu is designed for complete beginners and for learner progression, so your kids can ‘grow’ their skills with it. Using the app, beginner coders can command the Sphero Mini by drawing a path in the app for the robot to follow.

Then, as they get more skilled, intermediate coders can use code blocks to learn more advanced logic and pros can use text programming to write their own JavaScript. Sounds pretty cool doesn’t it?

Here’s a little video that shows you more about it:

Giveaway

So, how do you fancy winning a Sphero Mini of your very own? Sphero are very kindly running a giveaway with us.

Shero Mini Review

To enter to win, simply fill in the rafflecopter below. Life Unexpected is also running a whole month of giveaways at the moment, so head over to our ‘Blog Giveaways‘ page to see what else you can win.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sphero Mini’s retail at £49.99 and are available from most good tech stores. I feel like they are worth way more than that though, especially with how much you can learn from using them. Plus, they are great for both kids and grown ups alike. You can find out more on their website.

What do you thing of Sphero Mini? Would you or your kids love this little robot ball? Let me know in the comments below.

*We were sent a Sphero Mini for the purpose of this review, all opinions are honest and our own.

Follow:
Share:

89 Comments

  1. April 13, 2018 / 10:03 am

    You can play it indoors or out and it is small enough to take with you on a picnic too!

  2. April 13, 2018 / 11:21 am

    This looks great! I haven’t seen it before it is something that my Son-in-Law and Grandson would enjoy together.

  3. Iain Maciver
    April 13, 2018 / 2:08 pm

    looks like great fun in or outdoors fabtastic giveaway

  4. MM
    April 13, 2018 / 2:37 pm

    This looks like something that my children (and me) would really enjoy playing with.

  5. Tony Metcalfe
    April 13, 2018 / 3:27 pm

    It looks like you can have a lot of fun with this!

  6. Martina Pichova
    April 13, 2018 / 3:42 pm

    I like that it’s not just a fun toy but the kids can learn programming with it.

  7. Annabel Greaves
    April 13, 2018 / 4:07 pm

    It looks like a great interactive learning toy for the whole family

  8. Sarah Mackay
    April 13, 2018 / 5:11 pm

    I love the unique yet educational element of this toy

  9. Susan Smith
    April 13, 2018 / 5:18 pm

    Love the fact its an educational interactive toy

  10. Nigel Soper
    April 13, 2018 / 6:09 pm

    A very cool toy

  11. Laura Scott
    April 13, 2018 / 7:42 pm

    I love that it can be used by kids to learn basic coding and that it is small and easy to take on holiday etc.

  12. Hannah Wallington
    April 13, 2018 / 9:07 pm

    It looks like so much fun, and good to get used to tech

  13. Angela Treadway
    April 13, 2018 / 9:23 pm

    i love the fact that its educational x

  14. Solange
    April 13, 2018 / 10:08 pm

    It looks like a great interactive learning toy.

  15. Jessica woods
    April 13, 2018 / 10:16 pm

    It looks like great fun would like to try myself looks like could be addictive

  16. Nichola Mackay
    April 13, 2018 / 10:18 pm

    My boys would love this. Think I’d have to play with it myself too

  17. ElizM
    April 13, 2018 / 10:47 pm

    I think my daughter would love this – great toy for big kids!

  18. aliduke79hotmailcom
    April 13, 2018 / 10:53 pm

    It looks like a lot of fun and could teach my daughter (and I) a bit about coding

  19. Caroline Blaza
    April 13, 2018 / 11:06 pm

    This looks so much funny and such a clever little ball. Think it is far to good for the kids to be playing with so that would just leave me to play with it. 🙂

  20. Dean T
    April 14, 2018 / 12:49 am

    I love gadgets and so does my family, anything robotic and / or sci-fi gets a thumbs up from us. These little balls of fun look fab

  21. michelle o'neill
    April 14, 2018 / 7:39 am

    i think my grandaughter would love this x looks so much fun

  22. Jennifer Toal
    April 14, 2018 / 7:40 am

    I think it looks really fun and exciting and easy to use

  23. Sadiyya Maryam
    April 14, 2018 / 8:11 am

    My daughter would love this as it looks like such a fun and innovative way to learn.

  24. katie
    April 14, 2018 / 9:13 am

    I love that you can learn to code with them. I think that’s really important in today’s world. Plus it looks great!

  25. Ursula Hunt
    April 14, 2018 / 11:56 am

    I lie the concept and the educational aspect I would have to have a go myself it looks fun

  26. Claire Aldridge
    April 14, 2018 / 2:34 pm

    My girls would love this to play this mini robot

  27. Charlene Merrall
    April 14, 2018 / 10:29 pm

    My girl loves gaming and coding, didnt even know something like this existed! Fab!

  28. Rachael Sexey
    April 15, 2018 / 7:50 am

    I love how you can take it with you or play with it inside and its wonderful how it teaches as your having fun 💙

  29. April 15, 2018 / 12:28 pm

    These are so cool – I love what a great teaching aid they are!

  30. janine atkin
    April 15, 2018 / 1:36 pm

    what a great learnng tool! my son would love this

  31. lozzle77
    April 15, 2018 / 2:18 pm

    it looks fun and also a great way of learning

  32. Margaret Gallagher
    April 15, 2018 / 3:34 pm

    Interactive fun FOR the boys – ideal FOR indoor or outdoor use

  33. Judy Kennedy
    April 16, 2018 / 9:40 am

    Its says for 8 and up, but my friends 6 year old loves it and so does the cat. You do need a You need an IOS or Android device to control it, so that may be a drawback for some parents. Don’t know not wanting to encourage phone use etc… I think it’s fun and apparently waterproof?

  34. Liam Bishop
    April 16, 2018 / 11:05 am

    My son would love it, great to get kids interested in robotics.

  35. Stevie Fairbairn
    April 16, 2018 / 1:09 pm

    I think the Sphero looks great fun and educational at the same time.

  36. Lorna Ledger
    April 16, 2018 / 7:28 pm

    It’s very interactive, educational, fun, and quirky! It engages and encourages the child to learn

  37. April 16, 2018 / 9:51 pm

    This looks like a lot of fun! I think my girls would love it. It looks educational and as it’s something to do with a phone my girls would love to try it out x

  38. Kerry H
    April 17, 2018 / 10:04 am

    I like the clean design and that it’s available in different colours. I’ve never seen anything like before and Face Drive sounds amazing. My son would love to play with this!

  39. Elizabeth Smith
    April 17, 2018 / 11:45 am

    I like the educational value, and get the feeling that the adults would be as interested as the children

  40. mandydoherty65
    April 17, 2018 / 4:31 pm

    Love that the Sphero is fun, educational and it would keep my grandchildren and me entertained for hours

  41. Niki Marie Wardle
    April 17, 2018 / 9:48 pm

    These look awesome, I like the coding side of it, to be honest I could probably learn a thing or two from it as well as the kids.

  42. Rich Tyler
    April 18, 2018 / 5:01 pm

    My boys would love to play this, fun for all!

  43. Cassandra D
    April 18, 2018 / 5:04 pm

    I like that you can learn how to code with the Sphero. Looks really fun.

  44. Andrea Upton
    April 18, 2018 / 8:59 pm

    I have never seen these before, they look like a lot of fun and educational too

  45. Karen Usher
    April 18, 2018 / 10:20 pm

    I’m fascinated by this! Looks like a lot of fun could be had for both adults and children!

  46. Judith Allen
    April 19, 2018 / 10:22 am

    What a fun introduction to coding, much better than slogging through begginner C++. That shows how out of date I am, been a long time since I tried a computer degree. And found out that actually, I really don’t like it.

  47. Irena
    April 19, 2018 / 10:44 pm

    Looks like a lot of fun for a new generation. And parents too. Would love to try it with my nephew.

  48. debbie davies
    April 20, 2018 / 10:51 am

    looks like great fun my grandsons would really enjoy playing with it. I think nanny and gramps will too 🙂

  49. lynn neal
    April 20, 2018 / 2:21 pm

    Looks great fun and would appeal to my grandchildren!

  50. kayleigh Robinson
    April 21, 2018 / 5:55 am

    This looks fab! I’ve never seen anything like this before. I love the fact it uses a smartphone rather than a remote control. My son is gadget mat at the moment it would be perfect for him!

  51. Kerryn Johnson
    April 21, 2018 / 8:04 pm

    Fantastic giveaway it looks like it would be fun for my granddaughter and me

  52. Rebecca F
    April 21, 2018 / 11:35 pm

    This looks great – something a bit different and learning a new skill

  53. Victoria Prince
    April 22, 2018 / 8:41 am

    I love the variety of ways you can control him, but especially the coding – it reminds me of “Roamer” – a robot we had at school that you could program to direct (very very basic – it was basically choosing a direction and then how far!) and I was absolutely fascinated. I was only 5 or 6 but it made a massive impression

  54. Nicki Simpson
    April 22, 2018 / 9:02 am

    I am a technophobe and this appeals to me simply because it is cute! However, I do not want my daughter to be a technophobe like me so this sounds amazing in getting her to develop coding skills in a fun way!

  55. claire griffiths
    April 23, 2018 / 2:54 am

    it looks like lots of fun and also kids will learn something useful so that always a good thing

  56. Allan Wilson
    April 23, 2018 / 7:52 am

    It looks great fun and very educational which is important in all toys.

  57. Lisa Wilkinson
    April 23, 2018 / 1:10 pm

    It’s such a brilliant way to teach coding to children!

  58. James Travis
    April 23, 2018 / 10:26 pm

    Can have lots of fun with this

  59. James Travis
    April 23, 2018 / 10:27 pm

    Definitely can have lots of fun with this

  60. Ellie Welch
    April 24, 2018 / 6:33 am

    looks amazing xx what a fab giveaway xc

  61. Tracy Newton
    April 24, 2018 / 10:04 am

    I love the fact that it is small enough to fit in my handbag.

  62. April 24, 2018 / 3:27 pm

    I like the idea of an app controlled toy. Also, the fact that it develops an understanding of coding is great. I’m sure it will be a necessary skill set in the future, if it isn’t already.

  63. Susan B
    April 24, 2018 / 5:37 pm

    I like to push the children without them realising and this would be perfect to have fun and enjoy a challenge.

  64. lorraine kirk
    April 24, 2018 / 6:19 pm

    I like the fact that it can help your child learn basic coding skills (something very important for the future)

  65. Ian Murray
    April 24, 2018 / 7:26 pm

    anything that can inspire the next generation of programmers can only be a good thing.

  66. Diana
    April 24, 2018 / 9:47 pm

    I like it because it looks like lots of fun and also teaches children some new skills too.

  67. Ro Day
    April 25, 2018 / 10:47 am

    Small enough to take to the in-laws. Also, get the children into computing and programming .

  68. DEBORAH BIRD
    April 25, 2018 / 3:40 pm

    It looks so much fun! I can imagine my son playing with this for hours!

  69. carol Boffey
    April 25, 2018 / 7:45 pm

    great giveaway

  70. Clare
    April 25, 2018 / 8:14 pm

    I have never seen or heard of this but it looks amazing and something my little boy would love – definitely something to add to the birthday list 🙂

  71. A S,Edinburgh
    April 26, 2018 / 7:21 am

    I love that it makes coding so accessible, something that can be started on gently, early on.

  72. Jacqui Rankine
    April 26, 2018 / 8:14 am

    This would be fantastic, especially that my kids are home educate.

  73. April 26, 2018 / 8:19 am

    It’s important that children are tech savvy and i love the fact that Sphero teaches children the basics of coding aswell as being a fun and educational toy.

  74. Wendy Guy
    April 26, 2018 / 8:21 am

    It would give children their first experience of using a phone or tablet which is invaluable.

  75. sarah parker
    April 26, 2018 / 8:23 am

    this looks great to play with the kids – they would love it 🙂

  76. Libby Noack
    April 26, 2018 / 11:52 am

    I like the fact that the app – Sphero Edu which comes with the Sphero Mini is designed for complete beginners and for learner progression, so your kids can ‘grow’ their skills with it.

  77. Emma Fox
    April 26, 2018 / 1:36 pm

    This looks lots of fun – I love the fact that it can be used inside and outside. I think that my son would love playing with this 🙂

  78. April 26, 2018 / 2:13 pm

    I like how it gets the kids into coding in a fun way.
    Karen Hughes

  79. Helen Swales
    April 26, 2018 / 4:45 pm

    Sounds like a great toy for all ages; wait until the children go to bed till adults get their go. Love that it has educational apps too so not just a gaming device.

  80. Kim Styles
    April 26, 2018 / 5:06 pm

    wow it is so innovative and great for motor skills development . I bet the cat would enjoy it too!

  81. Rebecca Powell
    April 26, 2018 / 7:41 pm

    This looks like a great toy that both of my children would be able to enjoy

  82. Jeanette Leighton
    April 26, 2018 / 8:02 pm

    Looks interesting and fun for all the family my daughter Sheriah 5 would be interested in it

  83. April 26, 2018 / 8:43 pm

    I really like the way it combines a more traditional game with modern technology

  84. Natalie Crossan
    April 26, 2018 / 9:28 pm

    This looks unique and fun and I’m sure my daughter would love playing with it x

  85. Sarah Robinson
    April 26, 2018 / 10:04 pm

    Love that it teaches the basics of coding! What a fab and fun gadget!

  86. Tee Simpson
    April 26, 2018 / 10:09 pm

    I love that you can play with it in many different ways. Its so versitile

  87. Liv Lee
    April 26, 2018 / 11:49 pm

    It looks so fascinating, and I’d really love to try it

Leave a Reply

Life On Instagram
3   276
21   227
20   354
17   260
20   313